Print this Page


IAMG2018 John Cedric Griffiths Teaching Awardee

Ute Mueller

Ute Mueller is an associate professor in mathematics at Edith Cowan University in Perth Australia. She completed an MSc at Concordia University, Canada and a PhD in Mathematical Physics at the Technical University of Clausthal, Germany. With her move to Edith Cowan University she changed her research focus to geostatistics. She has been involved in teaching of geostatistics since 2001 and postgraduate supervision in the application of geostatistical techniques to a variety of fields, including geological and fisheries data. Her current focus is on the geostatistical modelling (simulation and estimation) of multivariate data, including compositional data. Of particular interest is the quantification of uncertainty.

IAMG2018 William Christian Krumbein Medallist

Roussos Dimitrakopoulos

Roussos Dimitrakopoulos is a Professor and Canada Research Chair (Tier I) in Sustainable Mineral Resource Development and Optimization under Uncertainty, and Director of the COSMO – Stochastic Mine Planning Laboratory, at McGill University, Montreal, Canada.  Since 2007 Roussos has been the Editor-in-Chief of Mathematical Geosciences. He holds a PhD from École Polytechnique de Montréal and an MSc from the University of Alberta. He works on geostatistical simulation and stochastic optimization in mine planning and production scheduling, the simultaneous optimization of mining complexes and mineral value chains under uncertainty. He has taught short courses and worked in Australia, North America, South America, Europe, the Middle East, South Africa and Japan. He received the Synergy Award of Innovation in 2012 by the Governor General of Canada for research contributions to mining science and engineering and his long-standing partnership with Anglo Gold Ashanti, Barrick Gold, BHP Billiton, De Beers, Newmont Mining, and Vale.  In 2013, he received the Mineral Economics Award of the American Institute of Miming, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers (AIME/SME), was distinguished lecturer for the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) in 2015-2016, and IAMG Georges Matheron Lecturer in 2015.

Permanent link to this article: